A loss case of humanity

I do not think I would ever understand that moment when someone makes a decision to turn off their humanity switch. How they would “commit” to an agreement or promise and then break it without a single care in the world. And in not keeping their word, they wouldn’t even feel bothered by how it will affect you and the huge inconvenience that it will cost to your life. It’s like they decide that being horrible is what they are going to do and they do not have a care in the world on how badly it will affect you.

My question is, do people feel guilty at all when they are as mean as the devil to the next person? Or am I too much of a good person that when I do even the littlest of bad act, its eats me up inside till I make the means to make it right
with that particular person?

I know I shouldn’t be too sensitive or this surprised. I mean people do the worst of things to each other every day, they kill, rape, steal, hate crimes etc and here I am being concerned on a mere broken verbal agreement.

I would like to think that when someone decides they would be nasty to you and in the act of doing that, they start justifying it in their minds by convincing themselves that it’s okay to act that way or use those words even though they are fully aware of how it will affect you. This becomes a repetition in their lives till such time that they fully believe and are a 100% convinced that it’s okay to be that way. Their guilty-conscience just stops putting up with them, packs its bags and leaves.

It is sad that a majority continue losing their humanity and are just walking shells in human form. I guess I have to agree with Martin Adams when he said “There is no hope for humanity, because we cannot change the world. But there is always hope for us because we can change ourselves.

One thing I’ve realized in this recent event and all the other bits that have happened in the past, is that I would never be able to stop myself from seeing good in other people or giving them the benefit of the doubt, till offcourse they prove me wrong. I guess maybe the fear of being a horrible person is the one thing that drives me to continue being good to others.

