The Pecha Kucha night of inspiration…Prt2 of 5

They say an inspiration can come from the littlest OF things and is everywhere YOU OPEN YOUR EYES TO.

A year ago I attended a Pecha Kucha event for the first time and all I knew was that it’s a crowd of entrepreneurs/creative coming together to share their work and inspirations. We (my boyfriend and I) arrived just in time as the crowd was being led to the main hall. The hall was huge, antique chandeliers hanging from the high ceiling and huge brass organ pipe that must have been there from the ages of time stood in the far background at the end of the stage. Two projector sheets were placed on the front of the stage with a couch, three chairs and table nicely decorated in between the sheets. Good music was playing in the background as people slowly filled the empty chairs and the room satiated with a vibe of excitement.

Each speaker is given 6min40seconds to talk about their work or inspirations in a presentation format of 20slides displayed for 20seconds per image. I was glued to my sit and waiting patiently for the show to start as the slides displayed every city around the world that hosts Pecha Kucha event in the background. It was impressive to learn that the event is held in so many cities around the world. The nights are open to anyone wanting to inspire or be inspired, and seeing how successful this has been in all these cities was just incredible. The Team Leader and Pecha kucha license holder David Cotton opened the ceremony and right before he handed the mic to the MC he said simple words yet they moved me so much “everyone is a designer”. I felt inspired and wanted to feed more on his wisdom.

For some reason I had always believed that I should patiently wait for that single moment where a light bulb will come on in my head and at that very second I will know my calling in life. I cannot express how much I would love to create something of an artistic nature yet not sure which route to head and so I keep waiting for the bulb to come on. And till then I will continue writing.

As the charming MC took over the mic, I could see myself rubbing my hands together in excitement. What can I say, I easily get excited and feeding on inspiring wisdom is what I crave for the most in life.

As one speaker came after the other, I felt extremely happy and grateful that I had attended the event. I expressed my feelings to the good looking guy sitting next to me and told him about the light bulb moment I’m impatiently waiting for. He then replied, “a lot of people believe in exactly that, ‘the light bulb moment‘ that will turn their lives in the direction they always wanted to go in, but there is no such moment. You have to start with the little things that you can do right now and stop waiting. Keep doing what you love as you are now and with those things you create, they may eventually lead you to something bigger”. I took a moment to ponder on that, as part of me felt that he wasn’t understanding what I mean or it’s maybe the fact that I’m not expressing myself well. But later that evening, it dawned on me that he was right!

I enjoyed watching and listening to each presentation. It made me want to do more with myself, wish I had been born in this lovely city so that way my creative self would have awakened long ago. Right now I have this present moment and have to start working towards my final, bigger picture where my creative spark will hit in all directions.

I loved a lot of the presentations however these are the ones that stood out for me:

Jacques Bloom – ISTYLA

He was this smartest 15 year old who self taught himself Programming from an early age. He is a genius and exuberates his passions amazingly. He also creates design applications and runs a community workshop where he reaches out to under developed schools teaching kids how to be programmers. He believes it’s a must for children to learn programming as it increases intellectual/IQ. His presentation made me want to be a programmer. He was very entertaining too. He also created an application called Istyla that allows one to change themes on Facebook.

Contact: admin@istyla.com

Carmen Davila – Faces of Cape town

Mexican born and now stays in Cape town. She is a photographer and her presentation was about telling a story in single picture. She does this by taking pictures of random people in the park to help tell their story. She takes portraits of these people, prints them off and days later tries to locate each person so they can hopefully see the beauty in themselves that she saw when capturing the image. As she captures the picture, each person is asked what is the most important thing in their lives and their responses ranges from Love, Family, Money, Faith, Nature, Environment etc and on all pictures shown, there was only one old man who felt Air was most important and that was more moving of all pictures as he mentioned something that we often take for granted. The pictures are taken in black and white this minimizing the differences of color and the focusing exclusively on the person whose portrait is taken.
“We all have one heart, after all” she said.

http://www.carmendavila.com/info.htm

Didintle Ntsie – 100 in 1 day

Didintle is part of the creators/organizers of 100 in 1day, a social event that help people connect with eachother as they share the dreams they have for their communities, city and society. Different activities are held around the city bringing everyone together to share their interests and to participate in the fun of unity. The activities include playing chess, tango, cultural dances, painting etc. I’m yet to attend this event.

 Lisa Huang – Food and chatter

Originally from Asia, Lisa and her partner Ovi hosts events in different restaurants where people (whether new in town or wanting to try something new while making new friends) come together to share the pleasure of trying new food experience. The menu is always a surprise and specially created for that night. The guests get the pleasure of meeting the owners and chefs of the restaurant who then share the personal story of the restaurant, how it came about etc and also the food they will be making for the evening. Depending on the type of restaurant, guests have the chance to watch the food while being made. Once the food is placed on the table, guests can relish the moment, food and the new company they just made. To describe her in 3 words, she is a Food Story Teller.

I had the pleasure of attending one of her events, which was held at an Ethiopian restaurant in town. The experience was phenomenal.

foodandchatter.co.za

So, what was my plan after that night? To continue expressing my creativeness in any way that I possible can, till I find that mark that sets me aside from the rest. And to never cease to let each moment inspire me until that moment when my dreams slowly turns to reality.

“Love what you do and do what you love. Don’t listen to anyone else who tells you not to do it. You do what you want, what you love. Imagination should be the center of your life.” ― Ray Bradbury

