Totally contagious ~ Infecting the City

Part 1 of 5

What I love the most about the Mother City is the creative events they have throughout the year. The city is filled with thee most creative people show-casting their work in public events held in and around the city.

Sadly, I recently find myself not being able to attend all these exciting events. I work for an online company that provides its services internationally, which as a result we operate 24/7 because of different timezones. This has it’s pros and cons, while I can still attend some events, I still miss out on a lot others.

And this year has left little gratitude to give to my Lucky Stars. I have missed quite a lot of events due to reasons that were out of my control and all I find myself doing is reminiscing:

 Infecting The City

This is an annual cultural fiesta event where art displays, music & theatrical performances comes live into the mundane streets and gray buildings of the city. It’s contagious, amazing, attention-grabbing, enticing and intoxicating. It runs till 10pm and gets even more magical as the moon rises and the twinkly stars adds to the scenes of each performances.

These I captured at last year’s event:

IMG_0012

???????????????

IMG_0037IMG_0039As the performances are a few minutes walk apart within the city, the crowd is led by a guy painted in white with bottles on his back, I call him “The Bottleman”. He takes us from one performance to the next, making sure people do not get lost and make it on time for the next performance.

IMG_0167

One of the bottlemen waiting patiently for the performance to finish so he can lead us to the next one.

IMG_0062

 

IMG_0065

IMG_0066

pic

IMG_0160 IMG_0094This is one of my favorites. You should have seen how many of these glowing sticks I collected after the performance:D

IMG_0130

IMG_0114

IMG_0154

This one insanely cool. No, it’s not Hitler. He is Cecil John Rhodes one of people who played economic role in South Africa. I’m not much of a history person so won’t go into detail about him. What I loved was how they dressed his statue up in a cool shiny suit, some shoes and a hat on his hand.

Stay tuned for the follow up post of My most missed Cape Town Events Prt 2 of 5:)

xxx

~ Faith

