Make Good Art

Improvement of self is one of the best thing you can ever do for yourself. For it is when we improve who we are, do we get the courage to achieve what’s beyond.

For the past few years I started to enjoy listening to short audio/clips of any inspiring audio recordings I could possibly find, that being from self-improvement books, autobiographies or any other self-help talks, workshops etc. I would listen to this as I travelled to work or long distances. So in my journeys on the road I would alternate between the inspirational audio clips, reading a book and latest awesome jams. This always does help make the journeys seem shorter.

Anyways I was inspired to write this post after reading some article from an entrepreneurial online mag about making the most of situations.This then took me back to a video link I once received on email of one of the most inspiring speeches given by Neil Gailman (Author) addressing University of Arts graduates. Well, I never studied Art but his speech resonated to me in so many ways that I still apply most of the things he said in my every day experience. Afterall, Life is Art – 10% being the canvass and 90% what you paint on it.

With that said, in painting your canvass called life:

  1. Imagine where you want to be and go for it! Reach for the impossible, despite the rules or assumptions set by mankind.

People who know what they are doing know the rules, and know what is possible and impossible. You do not. And you should notIf you don’t know it’s impossible it’s easier to do. And because nobody’s done it before, they haven’t made up rules to stop anyone doing that again, yet.”

 

  1. If you have an idea of what you want to do, then go ahead and do it now. Don’t wait for tomorrow!

If you have an idea of what you want to make, what you were put here to do, then just go and do that.”

Opportunities are never lost; someone will take the one you miss“. ~Author Unknown

 

  1. In every new venture there are always two possible outcomes, failure & success. Be thickskinned no matter how hard you may fall, it’s a lesson to do things a different way.

When you reach an obstacle, turn it into an opportunity. You have the choice. You can overcome and be a winner, or you can allow it to overcome you and be a loser. The choice is yours and yours alone. Refuse to throw in the towel. Go that extra mile that failures refuse to travel. It is far better to be exhausted from success than to be rested from failure.” – Mary Kay Ash

 

  1. Make mistakes. By making mistakes that means you are doing something, and in that a learning experience is gained.

If you’re making mistakes, it means you’re out there doing something. And the mistakes in themselves can be useful.

In the end, you’re measured not by how much you undertake but by what you finally accomplish.” – Donald Trump

 

  1. Get to know YOU and find your uniqueness. That which makes you stand out and use that to get where you need to be.

“..while you are at it, make your art. Do the stuff that only you can do….The urge, starting out, is to copy. And that’s not a bad thing. Most of us only find our own voices after we’ve sounded like a lot of other people. But the one thing that you have that nobody else has is you. Your voice, your mind, your story, your vision. So write and draw and build and play and dance and live as only you can.

 

  1. Make up your own rules and where you feel as though you can’t, imagine yourself as someone who can. Not pretend to do it but pretend to be someone who could do it.

Being an ambivert, the part of my personality that shines or comes out is always dependent on circumstances and the crowd I’m in at the time. With that being said, I would sometimes get highly confident in interviews or particular crowd while in other times I’m a nervous wreck. So whenever I start feeling that racing heart-throb and could feel my insides start to tremble, in that very moment I start imagining myself as someone who could do it. I pretend I am that person. I let my mind wander and imagine being in some tv show, see this person blooming with confidence, expressing herself in the best ways and getting herself that great job/business opportunity. And just at that very moment, I get into that role. I pretend to be the person who could do it. This has worked great wonders.

I hope this will help you as much as it did me. And that you enjoyed reading it.

Above quotes are from Neil Gailman’s speech and those that aren’t I have added the names of the persons they were said by.

Here’s Neil Gailman’s speech, please share. If it doesn’t move you as much, it could do wonders to those near you.

Thank you for reading!

